IAM to drop requirement to “Make Progress”

The following appeared on the Survival Skills Facebook page at midday today.

At yesterday’s National Motorcycle Safety Seminaor, IAM Director of Standards made an important comment in his presentation. He said that the IAM “want to get away from the constant emphasis on progress” – he said there was no reason riders could not enjoy the scenery.

That’s going to kick up some controversy without a doubt. Already on this page we’ve had statements in favour:

“Nice to see the IAM Director of Standards comments about “making progress” – I hope this quickly filters down to the local level. The “ride like you’re late for a ferry” mentality put me off IAM training” (Steve Peake)

“I always shudder when I hear the “making progress” phrase. To balance the additional risk against the time saved by some riders is concerning… not to mention the negativity it creates towards bikers as a result of the behaviour of many driving that way.” (Colin Hemming)

“Agree with Steve’s comment re IAM training, it is the ‘making progress’ element that puts me off taking their training as i, being someone who rides pretty much just for pleasure, simply don’t ride like that.
about an hour ago” Keith Wheeler

“After my IAM test the examiner asked for feedback about my IAM group – I pretty much reiterated the 3 comments made above to him! He agreed! Then again he docked me a point for not switching my engine off at a level crossing – something not covered in “making progress”…”

“Totally agree that you should never ride as if getting there sooner was a benefit. I personally ride like the clappers but only when the road opens up to let me do so. If there’s a risk/speed trade off, I score increased risk at 100% and getting there quicker at 0%” Andy Tribble

This is certainly interesting, and dropping the “making progress” moniker will please road safety groups no end.  Whenever we heard that phrase it always seemed ambiguous at best.  One person’s making progress is another’s pootling and so on it goes.  If this encourages people to go at their own pace then it can only be positive.

frabz-Making-Progress-What-my-friends-think-I-do-What-my-mum-thinks-I--38b773(1)

We think this sums it up pretty well!

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment